1/1

The concept of sustainable development of the historical settlement of Kazan

Customer
Curator of the project
Working group leader
Square 
Location 
Design period
Status
Author's team
Republic of Tatarstan
Aide to the President of the Republic of Tatarstan Olesya Baltusova
Ilsur Metshin
2372 hectares
Kazan, Russia
2018-2020 
Concept
LLC "Axiom Architect", Architectural practice of the Novikovs, Institute for Urban Research "Tamga"
 
 
 

Methodology

To identify the material heritage and the subsequent inventory, the design-analytical method of the English school of "urban morphology" - Urban Morphology was applied.  The essence of the method lies in the fact that the city is considered as an imaginary stratification of important city-forming forms into layers, which in urban planning theory are called morphological layers of the city. This mental layering helps to analyze the whole city-forming forms and see how changes in the past or hypothetically future changes on one layer lead to changes on all layers below or above. , and we are trying to change the well-established perception of the historical heritage as the value of individual objects of cultural heritage and ordinary buildings.

"Garden rings" - a proposal for the direction of development of the historical center of Kazan. The concept proposes instead of radical methods of intrusion of technology to develop a sensitive integration into nature, mitigating the technogenic factor. This development idea is represented by the concept of two garden rings. In modern Kazan, the preserved historical gardens and groves, together with other green areas, occupy 365 hectares of the territory of the historical settlement, but at the same time remain scattered in their structure. The main solution is to connect separate island fragments of green areas, turning them into two garden rings. The connection of fragmented green areas into garden rings can be realized through the creation of additional links in the chain: from empty, undisturbed areas, which from liabilities become city assets; existing historical streets, which are additionally landscaped and landscaped; newly laid pedestrian connections.

Proposal for "transverse development" of the streets of the historical center of Kazan.  For centuries and until recently Kazan has been developing in the longitudinal direction. The Concept proposes a new vector of spatial development - the “transverse direction”. Primary attention is paid to the cross-link streets, the development of which will allow to level out the socio-economic imbalance of the historical core and areas of the former outskirts of the city. We propose to connect the broken, fragmented network of cross streets with additional links. Thus, we restore the historical regular pattern of streets and connect the quarters of the upper part of the historical center with the embankments of the three water areas. A significant solution to this direction of development is the exit of the historical center to the embankments of the Volga and Kazanka rivers. The continuation of the current streets Astronomical-Galiaskara Kamala may become the main axis-exit of lateral development. It will turn into the most important tourist route from the KPFU ensemble, the third educational center in the history of Russia, through the historical quarters of the Staro-Tatar settlement to the New Center of the Volga port embankment.

Released books

1/1

Концепция устойчивого развития исторического поселения Казани

Заказчик
Куратор проекта
Руководитель рабочей группы
Площадь 
Местоположение 
Период проектирования
Статус
Авторский коллекитв
Республика Татарстан
помощник Президента РТ Олеся Балтусова
Ильсур Метшин
2372 га
г. Казань, Россия
2018-2020 г. 
Концепция
ООО «Аксиом Архитект», Архитектурная практика Новиковых, Институт городских исследования «Тамга»
 
 
 

Методология

Для выявления материального наследия и последующей инвентаризации был применен проектно-аналитический метод английской школы «городской морфологии» - Urban Morphology.  Суть метода заключается в том, что город рассматривается как воображаемое расслоение важных градообразующих форм на слои, которые в градостроительной теории называются морфологическими слоями города. Такое мысленное расслоение помогает анализировать цельные градообразующие формы и видеть, как изменения прошлого или гипотетически будущие изменения на одном слое ведут к изменениям на всех ниже или выше лежащих слоях.С помощью морфологического подхода мы расширяем фокус внимания, где застройка занимает лишь один из пяти важных слоёв, и пытаемся изменить устоявшееся восприятие исторического наследия как ценности отдельных объектов культурного наследия и рядовой застройки.

«Садовые кольца» - предложение направления развития исторического центра Казани. Концепцией предлагается вместо радикальных способов вторжений техники развивать чуткое встраивание в природу, смягчая техногенный фактор. Эта идея развития представлена концепцией двух садовых колец. В современной Казани сохранившиеся исторические сады и рощи вместе с другими озеленёнными территориями занимают 365 га территории исторического поселения, но при этом остаются разрозненными по своей структуре. Главным решением становится соединение отдельных островных фрагментов зелёных территорий, превращая их в два садовых кольца. Соединение фрагментированных зелёных территорий в садовые кольца удаётся реализовать за счёт создания дополнительных звеньев цепи: из пустующих неразмежёванных территорий, которые из пассивов становятся городскими активами; существующих исторических улочек, которые дополнительно благоустраиваются и озеленяются; вновь проложенных пешеходных связей.

Предложение "поперечного развития" улиц исторического центра Казани. Столетиями и до последнего времени Казань развивалась в продольном направлении, Концепцией предлагается новый вектор пространственного развития – «поперечное направление». Первоочередное внимание обращено на поперечные улицы-связи, развитие которых позволит выровнять социально-экономический дисбаланс исторического ядра и районов бывших окраин города. Мы предлагаем соединить разорванную, фрагментированную сеть поперечных улиц дополнительными связями. Таким образом, мы восстанавливаем исторический регулярный рисунок улиц и соединяем кварталы верхней части исторического центра с набережными трёх акваторий. Значимым решением этого направления развития является выход исторического центра к набережным рек Волги и Казанки. Продолжение нынешних улиц Астрономическая-Галиаскара Камала может стать главной осью-выходом поперечного развития. Она превратится в важнейший туристический маршрут от ансамбля КПФУ – третьего в истории России просветительского центра, через исторические кварталы Старо-Татарской слободы к Новому центру портовой волжской набережной.

Выпущенные книги