Today, on September 11, the Concept of sustainable development of the historical settlement of Kazan was presented to the President of Tatarstan Rustam Minnikhanov. The purpose of the development is to create uniform design principles in the center, return life to the center of Kazan, taking into account the most important task of preserving the historical city and its identity. Particular attention was paid to the development of intangible heritage.

After the adoption and implementation of the Concept, developers, builders and other businesses will receive transparent rules for working in historical territories. The new rules will reduce the time for approving projects in the center, presumably from 15 to 8 months, and increase the percentage of projects passing from 75% to 90%.

Architects will receive a clear design regulation based on spatial envelopes, which defines all development parameters in three different zones of the historic settlement. Each developer will be able to receive a town planning plan of the land plot, which contains both the current restrictions and recommendations for its permitted and desirable use.
It is planned that the number of residents in the city center will increase from 45 to 75 thousand, the density will increase from 20 to 40 people per hectare, the number of housing will increase by 700-800 thousand square meters. m, including through the reconstruction of existing buildings. The accessibility of the territory will increase to 70 million "guest visits" per year.

It is proposed to increase the volume of green areas, to connect them to each other in garden rings, to increase the pedestrian accessibility of the center and its cross streets, to realize the long-standing dream of Kazan citizens and to bring the city to the Volga by creating the Volga embankment.

The finished Concept was presented to the President by the authors of the project and members of the project group: Oleg Maklakov (Axiom Architect), Anna Novikova (Architectural practice of the Novikovs), Marya Leontyeva (Design laboratory Tamga).
The meeting was also attended by:
Mayor of Kazan Ilsur Metshin
Aide to the President of the Republic of Tatarstan Olesya Baltusova
chief architect of Kazan Ilsiyar Tukhvatullina
Fanil Agliullin, Minister of Land and Property Relations of the Republic of Tatarstan
members of the project team, experts and consultants of the working group.

A feature of the Concept is a unified comprehensive vision of the development of the territory in four layers: buildings, streets, landscape, activities. Over the course of two years, the working group achieved the following results:
1. Rules for regulation of terraced buildings have been developed, which will make it possible to concretize the design requirements in the historical center, taking into account the volumetric-spatial structure inherent in the city, the need to preserve the urban composition, preferred materials, and architectural features.
2. The historical natural landscape of the city has been fully described, proposals have been developed to identify and reveal the potential of the natural landscape: the development of pedestrian spaces, the creation of maximum access to water areas, the development of the transverse direction of streets to increase their pedestrian accessibility and use the species potential of the natural relief, unification of historical gardens and groves of the city into three garden rings by creating green continuous connections.
3. A methodology has been developed that allows the study of intangible heritage to be combined with architectural and urban planning solutions: the main stable unique structures of the territories of the historical center of Kazan have been identified, and key urban experiences have been identified. This will make it possible to form a vision of the development of local territories, taking into account local identity and the balance of interests of stakeholders already existing in the territory.

One of the most important blocks of work on the implementation of the developed Concept is the legal one. A comprehensive analysis of the legislation has been carried out and a list of documents has been prepared, which need to be amended at all levels, from federal laws to municipal legal acts. The largest changes are expected to be made in the Land Use and Development Rules (LRP).
At the moment, some ideas of the Concept have already begun to be applied in the practice of the Department of Architecture and Urban Planning of Kazan, have entered the local standards of urban planning.
It is planned to continue work on the Concept by introducing development principles into various town-planning documents.

President of the Republic of Tatarstan Rustam Minnikhanov:
“We ordered this innovative development to Kazan architects to determine the direction for the further development of the center. The development is completed, we have accepted, approved. Now it will begin to take root in the life of the city. Developers get clear rules, authorities get a clear understanding of regulation, and citizens get a beautiful city.
The main thing that this Concept gives is an integrated approach to development, the ability to preserve the historical center, and at the same time carefully build up empty areas. Under the chief architect of the city, a project office will be created, thanks to which the concept will be transformed into working documents.
In addition to Kazan, there are thirteen historical settlements in the Republic of Tatarstan, therefore, I consider it necessary to do similar work in Yelabuga and Chistopol. The corresponding order has already been given. "

Mayor of Kazan Ilsur Metshin:
“For nine years now, a commission under the leadership of the president has been examining each building in detail. Today we have grown to the point that we have created a kind of constitution - a concept. After that, regulatory frameworks and regulations will be developed, with clear regulations for each section of the concept. "

Aide to the President of the Republic of Tatarstan Olesya Baltusova:
“The concept has been approved, but it will require implementation measures. Now we have to decompose it according to the documents of the local and regional level. There are proposals for federal documents regarding the application of the methodology and the expansion of the objects of protection of the historical settlement.
The main thing now is that the main vectors of vision have been approved. We believe in the concept and want it to come true! "

reference
The development of the Concept was initiated in 2018 by the President of the Republic of Tatarstan Rustam Minnikhanov. The decision to create the group was made after discussions on design in the center of Kazan at meetings of the interdepartmental commission on urban planning activities. It was headed by the Mayor of Kazan Ilsur Metshin. The working group included professional architects, experts in urban planning, planning, economics, sociology and heritage, supervising officials. The design team consists of architects working on a spatial model, under the leadership of the Kazan architect Oleg Maklakov (Axiom Architect). Anna Novikova and Nikolay Novikov ("Novikovs' architectural practice") worked in the project group in the direction of the urban landscape. The block of intangible heritage is being developed by Kazan scientists, culturologists and urbanists headed by Marya Leontyeva and Enge Dusaeva ("Design laboratory" Tamga "), the regulatory block was led by Daria Ganieva. The curators and consultants of the Project Group were federal and international experts in the field of urban planning and urban planning.
The tasks of the working group:
● creation of a concept for sustainable development of the historical settlement of Kazan for a period of at least 10-15 years;
● formation of the mission and vision of the future historical center of Kazan as an urban space and an urban community;
● creation of an integrated spatial model of urban space within the boundaries of the historical settlement of Kazan, which meets the objectives of the formed mission and vision of future development;
● development of guidelines for design within the boundaries of the historical settlement of Kazan;
● determination and substantiation of requirements for urban planning regulations within the boundaries of the territory of the historical settlement of Kazan;
● creation of grounds for inclusion in normative legal acts regulating urban planning activities in the specified territory.
● Drawing up an economic model and a map of investment intentions.
● Drawing up a modern social map of the territory.
● Creation of an identity model for the center of Kazan.

Сегодня, 11 сентября, Президенту Татарстана Рустаму Минниханову была представлена Концепция устойчивого развития исторического поселения Казани. Цель разработки – создание единых принципов проектирования в центре, возвращение жизни в центр Казани с учётом важнейшей задачи сохранения исторического города, его идентичности. Особое внимание в разработке было уделено нематериальному наследию.

После принятия и внедрения Концепции девелоперы, застройщики и другой бизнес получат прозрачные правила для работы на исторических территориях. Новые правила позволят сократить время согласования проектов в центре предположительно с 15 до 8 месяцев, увеличить процент прохождения проектов с 75 % до 90 %.

Архитекторы получат ясный регламент для проектирования на основе пространственных конвертов, который определяет все параметры застройки в трёх различных зонах исторического поселения. Каждый застройщик сможет получить градостроительный план земельного участка, в котором содержатся как действующие ограничения, так и рекомендации по разрешённому и желательному его использованию.
Планируется, что количество жителей в центре города возрастет с 45 до 75 тысяч, плотность увеличится от 20 до 40 человек на гектар, количество жилья прирастет на 700-800 тысяч кв. м, в том числе благодаря реконструкции существующих зданий. Повысится доступность территории до 70 млн. в год «гостевых посещений».

Предлагается увеличить объём зелёных зон, связать их между собой в садовые кольца, повысить пешеходную доступность центра, его поперечных улиц, реализовать давнишнюю мечту казанцев и вывести город к Волге, создав волжскую набережную.

Готовую Концепцию Президенту представили авторы проекта и члены проектной группы: Олег Маклаков («Аксиом Архитект»), Анна Новикова («Архитектурная практика Новиковых»), Марья Леонтьева («Проектная лаборатория «Тамга»).
В совещании также приняли участие:
мэр г. Казани Ильсур Метшин
помощник Президента Республики Татарстан Олеся Балтусова
главный архитектор Казани Ильсияр Тухватуллина
министр земельных и имущественных отношений РТ Фаниль Аглиуллин
члены проектной группы, эксперты и консультанты рабочей группы.

Особенность Концепции – единое комплексное видение развития территории в четырёх слоях: здания, улицы, ландшафт, деятельность. В течение двух лет рабочей группой были достигнуты следующие результаты:
1. Разработаны правила регулирования рядовой застройки, которые позволят конкретизировать требования к проектированию в историческом центре с учётом присущей городу объёмно-пространственной структуры, необходимости сохранения городской композиции, предпочтительных материалов, особенностей архитектуры.
2. Полностью описан исторический природный ландшафт города, разработаны предложения с целью выявления и раскрытия потенциала природного ландшафта: развитие пешеходных пространств, создание максимального доступа к акваториям, развития поперечного направления улиц для повышения их пешеходной доступности и использования видового потенциала природного рельефа, объединения исторических садов и рощ города в три садовых кольца путём создания зелёных непрерывных связей.
3. Разработана методика, которая позволяет «сшить» исследования нематериального наследия с архитектурными и градостроительными решениями: выявлены основные устойчивые уникальные уклады территорий исторического центра Казани, определены ключевые городские опыты. Это позволит формировать видение развития локальных территорий с учётом локальной идентичности и баланса интересов стейкхолдеров, уже существующих на территории.

Один из важнейших блоков работ по реализации разработанной Концепции – юридический. Проведён комплексный анализ законодательства и подготовлен перечень документов, в которые необходимо внести изменения на всех уровнях, от федеральных законов до муниципальных правовых актов. Наибольшие изменения предполагается внести в Правила землепользования и застройки (ПЗЗ).
На данный момент некоторые идеи Концепции уже начали применяться в практике работы Управления архитектуры и градостроительства г. Казани, вошли в местные нормативы градостроительного проектирования.
Планируется продолжить работу над Концепцией путём внедрения принципов разработки в различные градорегулирующие документы.

Президент Республики Татарстан Рустам Минниханов:
«Мы заказали эту инновационную разработку казанским архитекторам для определения направления дальнейшего развития центра. Разработка завершена, нами принята, одобрена. Теперь она начнёт внедряться в жизнь города. Застройщики получают ясные правила, власть - чёткое понимание регулирования, а горожане получают красивый город.
Главное, что даёт эта Концепция – комплексный подход к развитию, возможность и сохранять исторический центр, и при этом аккуратно застраивать пустующие участки. При главном архитекторе города будет создан проектный офис, благодаря работе которого концепция будет переходить в рабочие документы.
Помимо Казани в Республике Татарстан есть еще тринадцать исторических поселений, поэтому, считаю необходимым проделать аналогичную работу в Елабуге и Чистополе. Соответствующее поручение уже отдано.»

Мэр Казани Ильсур Метшин:
«Уже девять лет комиссия под руководством президента детально рассматривает каждое здание. Сегодня мы выросли до того, что создали некую конституцию – концепцию. После этого будут разработаны нормативные базы и нормативные акты, с четким регламентом по каждому разделу концепции».

Помощник Президента Республики Татарстан Олеся Балтусова:
«Концепция утверждена, но она потребует мероприятия по внедрению. Теперь нам предстоит разложить ее по документам местного и регионального уровня. Есть предложения по федеральным документам в части применения методики и расширения предметов охраны исторического поселения.
Главное сейчас: утверждены основные векторы видения. Мы верим в концепцию и хотим, чтобы она реализовалась!»

Справка
Разработка Концепции инициирована в 2018 году Президентом Республики Татарстан Рустамом Миннихановым. Решение о создании группы было принято после дискуссий о проектировании в центре Казани на заседаниях межведомственной комиссии по вопросам градостроительной деятельности. Ее возглавил Мэр Казани Ильсур Метшин. В рабочую группу вошли профессиональные архитекторы, эксперты в градостроительстве, планировании, экономике, социологии и наследии, курирующие чиновники. Проектная группа - это архитекторы, работающие над пространственной моделью, под руководством казанского архитектора Олега Маклакова («Аксиом Архитект»). В проектной группе по направлению городского ландшафта работали Анна Новикова и Николай Новиков («Архитектурная практика Новиковых»). Блок нематериального наследия разрабатывается казанскими учёными, культурологами и урбанистами во главе с Марьей Леонтьевой и Энже Дусаевой («Проектная лаборатория «Тамга»), нормативно-правовой блок вела Дарья Ганиева. Кураторами и консультантами Проектной группы выступали федеральные и международные эксперты в области урбанистики и градостроительства.
Задачи рабочей группы:
● создание концепции устойчивого развития исторического поселения г. Казань сроком не менее чем на 10-15 лет;
● формирование миссии и видения будущего исторического центра Казани как городского пространства и городского сообщества;
● создание комплексной пространственной модели городского пространства в границах исторического поселения г. Казани, отвечающей задачам сформированной миссии и видения будущего развития;
● разработка методических указаний для проектирования в границах исторического поселения г. Казани;
● определение и обоснование требований к градостроительным регламентам в границах территории исторического поселения г. Казани;
● создание оснований для внесения в нормативные правовые акты, регулирующие градостроительную деятельность на указанной территории.
● Составление экономической модели и карты инвестиционных намерений.
● Составление современной социальной карты территории.
● Создание модели идентичности центра Казани.